Day 01 – Favorate song of all times: Qi Li Xiang by Jay Chou

Jay Chou – Qi Li Xiang (周杰伦 – 七里香)

The title of the song has 2 meanings in Chinese: “Fragrance Spread Far Away”, and “Daphne Odora“, or “Orange Jasmin”, a kind of cute, fleshy, pale-pink flower known for its fragrance.

The title of the song gives the song a sweet tone, describing the girl  as a pretty Odora that intoxicates the boy with its fragrance.

The melody of the song is flowing and light; the sound effect of wind gives a capacious feeling of the green field in spring, and the usage of the Chinese traditional string instruments add more sweetness and characteristic to the song. In addition to cellos, guitars and pianos, all the instruments knit the music into a silver wind chimes that collide with each other, creating beautiful scenario and atmosphere.

The simply repeating melody is also a great part of the song. Usually when a song becomes repetitive, it becomes boring. However, “Qi Li Xiang” builds the emotional effect layer by layer by repeating the verses again and again. It’s been years but I can still listen to this song over and over without getting tired.

*Note: “Qi Li Xiang” is one of Jay Chou’s very early works. Jay Chou is a Chinese (Taiwanese? pardon me for the controversial nationality) and is one of my most admired people of all times. His life is full of struggles, dreams, stories and talents. Click on the link on his name to know more about this great artist and dreamer.

Lyrics Translation:

The sparrow outside the window
Has a big mouth on the wire pole
You said this sentence
Has very much the feeling of summer
The pencil in my hand
Moves back and forth on the paper
I use a few lines of words to describe who you are to me

The taste of sanma
The cat and you both want to understand
The fragrance of first love is retrieved by us just like this
That warm sunshine
Is like the just picked bright strawberry
You say you are not willing to eat this kind of feeling

Rain falls for the whole night
My love overflows like the rain
Leaves fall in the courtyard
With my thoughts one thick pile
A few words of gossip
There is no way it can cool off my passion
You appear in every page of my poem

Rain falls for the whole night
My love overflows like the rain
The butterfly on the windowsill
Is like the beautiful chapters fluttering about in the poem
I then write
I write I always love you into the end of the poem
You are the only understanding I want

That which is full of ears of the rice plant
Blessed this season
And your cheek is like the thoroughly ripe tomato in the field
You suddenly say to me
The name of the Common Jasmin Orange is very beautiful
Yet this moment I only wanted to kiss your stubborn lips

Rain falls for the whole night
My love overflows like the rain
Leaves fall in the courtyard
With my thoughts one thick pile
A few words of gossip
There is no way it can cool off my passion
You appear in every page of my poem

Rain falls for the whole night
My love overflows like the rain
Leaves fall in the courtyard
With my thoughts one thick pile
A few words of gossip
There is no way it can cool off my passion
You appear in every page of my poem

Rain falls for the whole night
My love overflows like the rain
The butterfly on the windowsill
Is like the beautiful chapters fluttering about in the poem
I then write
I write I always love you into the end of the poem
You are the only understanding I want

Source: http://www.jaychoustudio.com/jay-chou-translations/common-jasmin-orange/59

This entry was published on July 6, 2011 at 2:14 am. It’s filed under 30 Day Asian Song Challenge, C-pop, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Day 01 – Favorate song of all times: Qi Li Xiang by Jay Chou

  1. OOOOOOOO c-pop, was never really into, until now. The songs you have up so far sound really nice!!! lol yes im currently google-ing and youtube-ing c-pop now haha :).

    • Ohhhh I am so moved T_T
      First I can’t believe you actually read my posts all the way till this old one!
      Secondly you actually start to search and get to know it~
      YAAAAY I am so happy~~~ And thanks for paying attention~ 😀

      • WOw so far I’m liking it but wait now maybe you can explain something to me. So i googled a few things about cpop and i was confused because a lot of Taiwanese gorups/singers popped up. Am I looking up the wrong thing or is Taiwanese and Chinese the same when it comes to music? LOL sorry i hope you don’t mind answering just curious. 🙂 and if there is any good c-pop you remarked for someone just getting into it! thanks!

        • Lol sorry for the confussion 😀
          I think I mentioned about this somewhere before… but I don’t remember…
          So yeah it’s been a debate politically and of course, musically…. I was struggling when I created the category about if I should distinguish Taiwanese music and PR Chinese music…
          But I just finally decided to call them both C-pop since both of them are sung in Chinese language 😛 and Taiwan’s name within the Taiwan is actually called Republic of China… So closed to the “People’s Republic of China” lol!
          And this way it’s easier for me to organize since some of the singers are “half half” lol
          Anyways, I just hope ppl don’t take this into political issues 🙂
          For PR Chinese music, I totally recommend Khalil Fong, Wei Chen, Zhang Jie, Jane Zhang… there are definitely more but I can’t think of anything >_<~
          I love curiosity! Don't be timorous over A.M.I. and you are always welcome to ask me more~~ 😀

  2. Whatttt ? I thought your favorite song will ba a korean song somehow … I guess I was wrong

Tell me what you think:

