Day 07 – Song That Reminds You of A Certain Event

五月天 – 夜訪吸血鬼 (MayDay – Interview with the Vampire)

This song reminds me of a cosplay show I went to a couple years ago. I dressed up as a vampire. On the way to the show the bus was playing this song, and I was fascinated by the lively description of the vampires and the singing that’s almost like moaning and yelling.

The lyrics of the song, instead of describing how vampires seem to people, yells out the frets from the perspective of a desperate vampire. The melody of the song, accordingly, appears to be rebellious and soft-rockish instead of the usual “gothic” and deep style that’s always associated with vampires in art. The main vocal, Ashin, also explains this song very well with his light voice and the moaning tone. The yelling of Ashin at near the bridge blends the emotion up, and the high pitch line “我 不 能 飞 “(“I – can – not – fly”)at about 3:35 adds a great effect to the emotional appeal.

The elements of the song are rather modern, however, when they are put altogether, a desperate and helpless vampire comes alive.

Translation of the lyrics:

I am consumed with sadness but can shed no tears,

Extremely exhausted but I can’t sleep.

Just every day and night,

then further days and nights,

endless days and nights,

forever submerged in the human world. 

I am a bat but I can’t fly, trapped in this street day after day,

On a perpetual hunt, as though I’ve been cursed

The night is my shawl, the sunrise is my death,

The madness of the dance floor, is my only fate.

God has abandoned us,

But then provided a bleak moon to the light the world,

letting us endlessly and heatlessly multiply

With my own eyes, I see those I love leave me one by one,

All my dreams fade one by one,

Leaving only me here lingering breath of life for thousands of years

*I have no way to wield and angel’s pureness,

And no way to posses a devil’s resolution,

I can only resemble normal humans,

Greedy, Angry, Stupid and Ignorant,

Searching for a warm body and blood,

Searching for someone of my kind.

 I am consumed with sadness but can shed no tears,

Extremely exhausted but I can’t sleep.

Just every day and night,

then further days and nights,

endless days and nights,

forever submerged in the human world.*

Hunger is the best taste,

Loneliness is the strongest hypnosis,

Crazily looking for a pair of lips,

To act as my wine glass.

I’ve long grown weary of this,

and I had angrily swallowed Holy Water,

But only helplessly reawakened,

In the next long night.

Youth has forgotten us but still provides

The beauty of memories like roses,

Making us endure the cruelty of bleeding and crying.

The face in the mirror is slowly withering away,

That fist risen high gradually crushed,

Leaving behind only limitless and sighing photographs.

*I have no way to wield and angel’s pureness,

And no way to posses a devil’s resolution,

I can only resemble normal humans,

Greedy, Angry, Stupid and Ignorant,

Searching for a warm body and blood,

Searching for someone of my kind.

 I am consumed with sadness but can shed no tears,

Extremely exhausted but I can’t sleep.

Just every day and night,

then further days and nights,

endless days and nights,

forever submerged in the human world.*

(*Repeat*)

One lonely thousand years after another,

Just every day and night,

Then further days and nights,

Endless days and nights,

Oh Oh Oh Oh Oh

Wooooooo

I – CAN – NOT – FLY

*Note: MayDay is a Taiwanese alternative rock band that was formed in the late 1990s with five members, Ashin (A Shin) (vocalist), Monster (Guai Wu/Guai Shou) and Stone (Shi Tou) (lead guitars), Masa (Ma-sha) (bass guitar) and Guan You (Guan-You) (drums). Writing their own songs, lyrics and even arranging the music, their music has a unique style of their own. Click on the band name to know more about MayDay.

This entry was published on July 12, 2011 at 10:51 am. It’s filed under 30 Day Asian Song Challenge, C-pop, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Tell me what you think:

