Day 10 – Song That Makes You Fall Asleep

GD&TOP – Baby Good Night

Yes indeed the title itself is relevent to today’s theme.

The steady and echoy makes the song peaceful and cozy, and the delicate acoustic guitar touch blends with electric guitar, midi effect and even ukulele (I could be wrong about the instruments, please pardon me if I am wrong) – this produces an incredible effect of romantic and soft atmosphere and calms me down when I listen to this song.

The tempo is just as slow (or fast) as it needs to be so that the song doesn’t become too boring or upbeating, and throughout the song the tones of GD and TOP as they sing are murmuring, and the line “baby good night, baby good night” is so whispery that it sounds like GD is right by the listener’s ear, whispering the good-night-message to the listener – which makes me feel sweet (I am a fangirl 😛 ) and comfortable.

The song blends soft blues, jazz and pop ballads altogether successfully, creating a modern but yet classy style that I found in no other Kpop songs so far. This song has no “sticking out” melodies or complicated bridges which would make the song pretentious, and the smoothness of it is exactly the highlight of the song. Without all the fancies, this song gives an extremely cozy atmosphere that warm white quilts, puffy pillows and a large bouncy soft bed would give, making me fall asleep comfortably.

The music video adds a romantic sense into the song, the champagne, the fruits, the rain, the obscure room with warm yet subtle illumination, the skin exposure of the girls, and even GD and TOP themselves…. Instead of exhibiting sexuality, all the features create a rather sweet, romantic and cozy environment that makes me want to sleep.

Actually I find this song a great song as alarm ringtone as well – the smooth melody wakes me up without much disturbance of the silence of the morning or making much loud noise, and I actually wake up feeling relaxed with this song. The smoothness of the song is just incredible.

*Note: GD&TOP is a sub-group of BIGBANG, a very popular Korean boy group. BIGBANG, different from other boy groups, doesn’t have much dancing coming along with their music. Instead, BIGBANG focuses on the characteristics of each members (most of them have come out with solos and collaborated songs), and each member’s individual music style varies from one another as well. BIGBANG is also performancing in Japan, and they have received lots of appreciation in Japan as well. Some of their most successful songs include Haru Haru / 하루 하루 (Day by Day), Lies, Love Song, Beautiful Gangover, 声をきかせて(Let Me Hear Your Voice) and more. To know more about BIGBANG, click here to go to their youtube page, or click on their names to know more information.

Lyrics Translation:

Baby good night
Baby good night
Baby good night
Baby good night

GD:
Baby good night
Should I draw the image of her sleeping
Don’t be shy anymore, You’re already my girl
Even if it’s not clear it’s that way to me
You’re more than I deserve
You’re perfect, Thank you for being by my side baby, my lady

TOP
(I’ll always love you girl)
A ray of light trickles in
Through the cracks of the dim balcony
A perfect silhouette, this calming night’s aroma
Is like a coconut scented oil
Just like the day I confessed to you
Do you remember?
I whisper in your ears, Come closer
You’re too fine
A freckled crimson strawberry
And I become the whipping cream that wraps around

GD
Know how much I love you beautiful girl
Like a picture of a child to me
And frozen before a shadow
There’s nothing I can do
With a shaky voice
With dry lips
(Come a step closer to me and tenderly whisper)
The surrounding firelight dances
I always dream of you

Baby good night
Baby good night
Baby good night
Baby good night

Baby good night (Don’t wanna say goodbye)
Baby good night (Don’t wanna say goodbye)
Baby good night (Don’t wanna say goodbye)
Baby good night (Don’t wanna say goodbye)

GD
When the darkness of the black night finds us
Those beautiful eyes close and drift off
I sit by your bed
And caress your hair
Looking into your face
I want to convey my love
I wish time would stop like this
You are just so beautiful

TOP
(Hey sweetheart)
That I’d be familiar with everything
Your cute question
It’s just beautiful, the great power of love
Our lips redden
Our eyes meet, Yes a bit deeper
You’re my beautiful girl
You light the fire in my soul
Refreshing mint, the same hint
Teach me the answer sweet girl
You’re my beautiful girl
You light the fire in my soul
Refreshing mint, the same hint
Refreshing mint, hint
The answer is you

Baby good night
Baby good night
Baby good night
Baby good night

Baby good night (Don’t wanna say goodbye)
Baby good night (Don’t wanna say goodbye)
Baby good night (Don’t wanna say goodbye)
Baby good night (Don’t wanna say goodbye)

(French)
(Source: http://whimsicalbeing.blogspot.com/2010/12/gd-top-baby-goodnight-lyrics-with.html)

This entry was published on July 15, 2011 at 7:08 pm. It’s filed under 30 Day Asian Song Challenge, K-pop, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Tell me what you think:

