Day 11 – Song From Your Favorite Band

If you ask me what my favorite band is, I will definitely say TVXQ. If you ask me what song I think is the classic from them, I will definitely say Rising Sun. Rising Sun was the first Korean song I’ve ever heard in my life, and little did I know back then how huge the impact it would have on me and my music taste.

I first heard this song in the music class in 7th grade – our music teacher was showing us what she liked. I didn’t care much about who the song was by, but I clearly remembered that the melody of the song was very different – it was distinct from all the other songs I’ve heard. The drum beats in the prologue sounded like a folk music, yet the song itself sounded very “cool”. I liked the yellings like “No~~~~~” and “Ah~~~~~”a lot, the voices of the singers blended so well together, the melody was so easy to remember… But the most impressive part of the song was the bridge (though I didn’t know what a bridge was back then): The melody switches radically from a “cool”, modern one to this “aboriginal folk” one with funny “Ayaya~” and “Nah, Nah Nah” sound effects that gave me a feeling of being in a tropical jungle. This was something I never thought would be in a pop song before! I didn’t know the name of the song, nor the singers, but the melody of the song slept in my heart for years and never died out – and it woke up in 2008. A random chance re-introduced this song to me – this time with the title “Rising Sun” and the singers “TVXQ”. I immediately recognized the memorable melody – then I started listening to other songs by them and found myself discovering more and more interesting songs. Having been learning classical music for most of my life that’s involved with music, I felt like I opened a door toward a new world.

Time has passed quickly, and my music taste toward pop – especially Kpop – has changed a lot since then, but “Rising Sun” remains in my “corner for permanent favorite songs”, and TVXQ with the 5 members remains as my favorite band even though the TVXQ is broken apart now. Again, “Rising Sun”, the everlasting classic from TVXQ in my heart.

*Notice: I decided to actually tell my story with the songs in the 30-day-song-challange from now on because I think it’s important to not only introduce songs to you but also share with you my reasons (besides the “review” type of reason) for choosing the song. Sorry for the confusion and sudden change. Please tell me your opinion 🙂

**Note: TVXQ is a Korean boy band created by SM Entertainment in 2003 and was made of 5 members: Yunho (leader), Changmin, Jaejoong, Yoochun and Junsu. TVXQ is considered one of Asia’s most successful band for their contribution to Asian music industry (Korean, Japanese, and even Chinese). They entered the Guinness World Records for having the world’s largest official fan club and for being the most photographed celebrities in the world. The band broke up in 2010 due to a controversy over a lawsuit into two parts: the continuing TVXQ! with Yunho and Changmin, and JYJ with Jeajoong, Yoochun, and Junsu. To know more about them, click here to go to TVXQ’s official website, or here to TVXQ’s Wikipedia page.

This entry was published on July 16, 2011 at 2:22 am. It’s filed under 30 Day Asian Song Challenge, K-pop, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Tell me what you think:

