Day 12 – Song From a Band You Hate

大嘴巴 – Happy Birthday 買滴兒 (Da Mouth – Happy Birthday My Dear)

Not that I HATE this group or anything – they do have some good songs and some bad songs like all the other artists – I just didn’t like them that much when they first debuted

Da Mouth's Album Cover for "Forever Together"

because the main vocal girl had a strong Japanese accent singing in mandarin (she’s a Japanese developing in Taiwan). Anyways, she got better as time went by.

Da Mouth has many partying songs such as “119“, “國王皇后” and “結果咧“, yet what attract me are their slower and cuter songs, like this one, “Happy Birthday My Dear”. To me, all the vocals’ voices are a bit too weak for strong and upbeating partying songs that they usually promote as title songs, making those partying songs a bit dull. However their light voices are perfect for cute and slower songs. In “Happy Birthday My Dear”, the acoustic guitar, piano, and jingle sounds of the instrumental blend harmoniously with their delightful voice, creating a sweet atmosphere. The melody is catchy and simple enough to fit a “happy birthday” situation, and the lyrics are cute as well.

Even though I personally don’t like Da Mouth that much overall (sorry, fans, please pardon me), I have to admit they have talents in making, by that I mean composing melodies and writing lyrics, music. Check them out, maybe they would be your cup of tea.

Translation of the lyrics:

Happy birth day!!!

Happy birth day Oh yeah, this is certainly needed
Happy birth day Oh yeah, this is certainly needed

don’t be shy, today you are the elder
you are unique, so you must be loved
don’t be too tight, today is my turn to be the host
you are deserved, give me all your wishes
just have to keep smiling

everybody is singing for you
because you make the world a warmer place

Happy birthday my dear, this is certainly needed
what you want, what you love, what you think, what you dream
will all come true
Happy birthday my dear
this blessing song, given to you

Happy birthday oh yeah, this is certainly needed

at 12 o’clock, right after the first second
Grabbing the microphone, singing our song
Aladdin’s lamp, gives you 3 wishes
carefully wish your first one, carefully wish your second one
say at loud the third one

everybody is willing to praise you
because you’ve changed their world

Happy birthday my dear, this is certainly needed
what you want, what you love, what you think, what you dream
will all come true
Happy birthday my dear
this blessing song, given to you

Each sincere heart, by the time of candle blows
are drawn into joy by your side

Always because of my shyness that I don’t say anything
but the truth is that im very happy to having you with me
One obstacle by other, all sweaty
we hardly pass them all through together
This time you can sit back and relax
let me pass it for you
Hold the best time of this day
i want to let all the loves blossoming keeps inside of your heart

Happy birthday my dear, this is certainly needed
Each wish will come true
Happy birthday my dear
this blessing song, given to you

* Lyrics translation comes from jpopasia.com. Picture comes from kugou.com. All rights reserved to original authors and Universal Music Group Taiwan.

This entry was published on July 17, 2011 at 3:36 pm. It’s filed under 30 Day Asian Song Challenge, C-pop and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Tell me what you think:

