BigBang – Blue: That Sorrow at The End of Winter

I wasn’t sure what I felt for this song when I first listened to it. The intro flows slowly and softly like a melting brook in early spring. But then the chorus comes in with its strong tapping beat in the background, accelerating the tension of the song – and this relatively strong feeling continues until the bridge. Without looking the lyrics, I immediately understood that “Blue” was a winter-like sad song, yet to me, the tension seemed too much for a lamenting winter song like this; maybe a reduce in drum beats and R&B tapping would make a better “calm yet sorrowful” atmosphere.

However that was just my first thought. After chewing “Blue” for a couple more times, I realized how it builds the winter-like feeling without needing to have a slow and soft tempo. It’s the melody itself, and the way BigBang expresses the words. For almost every line, the melody (even the rapping parts) slowly goes up then drops down, descending as if a quiet sigh, expressing the inability to help a sad situation. The only ascending line and therefore relatively light-hearted and catchy line is “I’m singing my blues, blues, blues”, which expresses the “singing my sorrow” motion of the man (the speaker of the song) very well, depicting his inner emotion of wanting to “fly” and get away from this sorrow that he is stuck in. The awkward and non-fitting high note right before the chorus seemed weird at first, but as I listened to it more and more it blends into the rest of the song while adding some newness to it, preventing it from being a cliché. What’s more, the composition of the melody keeps “Blue” a very modern Bigbang-styled ballad (Bigbang’s music style had changed since “Haru Haru / Day by Day“): R&B, soft yet upbeating, a bit westernized yet still Korean.

The way Bigbang sings the song, I have to say, is very smart and beautiful. Instead of pronouncing clearly all the way, Bigbang ends each line with a fading-away breathy sound effect while prolonging it just a little bit, adding a sighing or just simply breathing effect to it. The singing parts are sung softly as if murmuring, and the rapping parts are done consistently without being too fast or having too many pauses as if talking to oneself.

The MV, on the other side, adds to the atmosphere of “the end of the winter” and the song’s sorrow. The blue and grey tone, the slow motion, the slowly arising steam, the flying seagulls, the half-wasted urban setting, scenes of lovers running, staring, and looking back without a plot… I especially like the caucasian girl as the past lover: her presence is beautiful, yet foreign and untouchable.

Yes, “Blue” is another love song. However, I like the atmosphere “Blue” builds up for this sad love song: It’s a sigh from a man to his past lover at the end of winter, expressing his sadness to their faded love, symbolized by winter, and his hopelessness in spring, or the upcoming of a new relationship.

Lyrics translation of the song:

The winter had passed
and the spring has come
we have withered
and our hearts are bruised from longing

(I’m singing my blues)
used to the blue tears, blue sorrow
(I’m singing my blues)
the love that I have sent away with the floating clouds, oh oh

under the same sky, at different places
because you and I are dangerous
I am leaving you
I remember when you called me “Mr.”
it’s cowardly but I’m hiding because ‘m not good enough
cruel breakup is like the end of the road of love
no words can comfort me
perhaps my lifetime’s last melodrama
now its final curtain is coming down

I was born and I met you
and I have loved you to death
my cold heart that has been dyed blue
even with my eyes closed, I can’t feel you

the winter had passed
and the spring has come
we have withered
and our hearts are bruised from longing

(I’m singing my blues)
used to the blue tears, blue sorrow
(I’m singing my blues)
the love that I have sent away with the floating clouds, oh oh

I feel like my heart has stopped beating
you and I, frozen there, after a war
trauma, that has been carved in my head
once these tears dry up, I will moistly remember my love
I’m neither painful nor lonely
happiness is all self-talk
I can’t stand something more complicated
it’s no big deal, I don’t care
inevitable wandering, people come and go

I was born and I met you
and I have loved you to death
my cold heart that has been dyed blue
even if you have left, I’m still here

(I’m singing my blues)
used to the blue tears, blue sorrow
(I’m singing my blues)
the love that I have sent away with the floating clouds, oh oh

again tonight, underneath that blue moonlight
I will probably fall asleep alone
even in my dreams, I look for you
and wander around while singing this song

(I’m singing my blues)
used to the blue tears, blue sorrow
(I’m singing my blues)
the love that I have sent away with the floating clouds, oh oh

(I’m singing my blues)
used to the blue tears, blue sorrow
(I’m singing my blues)
the love that I have sent away with the floating clouds, oh oh

*Lyrics come from lyricsmode.com. All pictures come from official MV snapshots taken by me. No infringement intended.

This entry was published on February 26, 2012 at 2:35 pm. It’s filed under K-pop, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “BigBang – Blue: That Sorrow at The End of Winter

  1. Pingback: Bigbang – Fantastic Baby: The Visual Arts of the Music Video | Asian Music Invasion

Tell me what you think:

